• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 TFrance

TFrance

• Silver Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 06:20 PM

I'm relatively new to high-grade card market. It appears that a given PSA-graded card (i.e. 8) is valued slightly higher than the same card graded by SGC at comparable level (i.e. 88/8). Is it recommended to seek cross-over grades of SGC cards to move into PSA holders? Is there any risk in doing so? Combined pop reports must be overstated through such process.

#2 mrmint23

mrmint23

Grand Master

• Gold Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 562 posts

Posted 29 August 2011 - 07:42 AM

Welcome to the boards....PSA and SGC are very comparable in grading but prices due vary based on Card. The risk is cracking out the card and finding something the third party grading company missed like a wrinkle or crease..Also you could damage the card in the process...But like other things in life sometimes the risk is worth the reward....Check out youtube on how to crack the cases...

#3 TFrance

TFrance

• Silver Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 September 2011 - 08:57 AM

Welcome to the boards....PSA and SGC are very comparable in grading but prices due vary based on Card. The risk is cracking out the card and finding something the third party grading company missed like a wrinkle or crease..Also you could damage the card in the process...But like other things in life sometimes the risk is worth the reward....Check out youtube on how to crack the cases...

Thanks very much for the input. Some interesting stuff on YouTube. I definitely won't break into the case myself. Am thinking of sending to PSA with a "minimum grade" requirement before they even break it. Even with that, suppose there' s a chance PSA could damage the card.

#4 Dboneesq

Dboneesq

Grand Master

• Gold Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 560 posts

Posted 04 September 2011 - 08:02 AM